ITV and BBC Announce 2014 FIFA World Cup Match Split

The BBC and ITV have confirmed the split of matches for this summer’s 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

ITV will show the opening match of the tournament between hosts Brazil and Croatia on 12 June, while the BBC start with Spain v Holland, a repeat of the 2010 World Cup final on 13 June. The BBC will show England’s first group match against Italy. ITV will then show England's next two games against Uruguay and Costa Rica. The BBC will have first pick of the round of 16 and semi finals, whilst ITV has first pick of the quarter finals. Both ITV and BBC will show the final.

The full split of the group stage matches is outlined in the table below.

Philip Bernie, BBC Head of TV Sport said: "We’re very pleased with our selection of matches which includes England’s highly anticipated opening match with Italy along with their crucial first knock out match, if they proceed, and the first pick of the semi finals. We also have some extremely appetising peak time group games including Spain v Holland, Spain v Chile, Brazil v Mexico and Germany v Ghana. The World Cup in Brazil promises to be truly memorable. The BBC is delighted to be showing this great selection of games and our audiences will be able to join in not only live on BBC One but on radio and online where our very extensive coverage will deliver the first truly digital World Cup.”

Niall Sloane, ITV Director of Sport, said: “The World Cup begins on ITV for UK viewers next year and we’re looking forward to showing live two of England’s three group matches as well as two of Brazil’s, including the tournament’s opening game between the hosts and Croatia in Sao Paulo.  We will also broadcast the key match between two of Europe’s most fancied sides, Germany and Portugal, as well as a chance to gauge the form of the other South American heavyweights, Argentina, in two of their group matches  In addition, ITV will have first pick of the quarter-final matches as Brazil 2014 builds towards its climax.  Viewers will be able to watch all matches live online on which will also host a dedicated World Cup site offering comprehensive coverage in the build up to and throughout what promises to be a special tournament in this most iconic of football countries.”
FIFA 2014 World Cup – Group stage match split

Date      Time   Broadcaster   Match
12 June 9pm ITV Brazil v Croatia
13 June 5pm ITV Mexico v Cameroon
8pm BBC Spain v Netherlands
11pm ITV Chile v Australia
14 June 5pm BBC Columbia v Greece
8pm ITV Uruguay v Costa Rica
11pm BBC England v Italy
2am ITV Ivory Coast v Japan
15 June 5pm ITV Switzerland v Ecuador
8pm BBC France v Honduras
11pm BBC Argentina v Bosnia
16 June 5pm ITV Germany v Portugal
8pm BBC Iran v Nigeria
11pm BBC Ghana v USA
17 June 8pm BBC Brazil v Mexico
5pm ITV Belgium v Algeria
11pm BBC Russia v South Korea
18 June 11pm ITV Cameroon v Croatia
5pm ITV Australia v Holland
8pm BBC Spain v Chile
19 June 5pm BBC Columbia v Ivory Coast
11pm BBC Japan v Greece
8pm ITV England v Uruguay
20 June 8pm ITV France v Switzerland
5pm BBC Italy v Costa Rica
11pm ITV Honduras v Ecuador
21 June 8pm BBC Germany v Ghana
5pm ITV Argentina v Iran
11pm BBC Nigeria v Bosnia
22 June 5pm BBC Belgium v Russia
11pm BBC USA v Portugal
8pm ITV South Korea v Algeria
23 June 9pm ITV Cameroon v Brazil
9pm ITV Croatia v Mexico
5pm ITV Australia v Spain
5pm ITV Holland v Chile
24 June 9pm BBC Japan v Columbia
9pm BBC Greece v Ivory Coast
5pm ITV England v Costa Rica
25 June 9pm BBC Ecuador v France
9pm BBC Honduras v Switzerland
5pm ITV Nigeria v Argentina
5pm ITV Bosnia v Iran
26 June 9pm ITV South Korea v Belgium
9pm ITV Algeria v Russia
5pm BBC USA V Germany
5pm BBC Portugal v Ghana